Deferred Compensation Plan BOARD REPORT 14-04

Date:January 21, 2014To:Board of Deferred Compensation AdministrationFrom:StaffSubject:2014 Board Elections

<u>Board of Deferred</u> <u>Compensation Administration</u> Eugene K. Canzano, Chairperson John R. Mumma, Vice-Chairperson Cliff Cannon, First Provisional Chair Tom Moutes, Second Provisional Chair Sangeeta Bhatia, Third Provisional Chair Michael Amerian Ray Ciranna Robert Schoonover Margaret Whelan

Recommendation:

That the Board of Deferred Compensation Administration receive and file the following information regarding upcoming elections for the Board of Deferred Compensation Administration.

Background:

In 2007, the City Council approved governance changes to the Board of Deferred Compensation Administration that included the addition of directly elected participant representatives for the Los Angeles City Employees' Retirement System (LACERS), Los Angeles Fire and Police Pensions (LAFPP), Department of Water and Power (DWP), and retired employee participants.

Currently, the terms for both the *Active LACERS Participant Representative* and the *Active LAFPP Participant Representative* will expire on June 30, 2014. The election to fill these positions will be held on May 16, 2014, with new terms beginning July 1, 2014 and ending June 30, 2017. Key dates for this election are:

| Early March 2014 | LACERS and LAFPP active employee participants will be advised of the election and their eligibility to run for the seats |
|------------------|--|
| March 21, 2014 | Nominating petitions will be made available |
| April 4, 2014 | Deadline for submission of signed petitions |
| Late April 2014 | Ballots will be mailed |
| May 16, 2014 | Election Day; all ballots must be received by this date |

Staff will continue to update the Board as the election process progresses.

The next upcoming Board election would be for the Active DWP and Retired Participant Representative seats, to be held in May 2015 for terms beginning July 1, 2015.

| Submitted by: | Esther Chang | |
|---------------|---------------------|--|
| Reviewed by: | Steven Montagna | |
| Approved by: | Alejandrina Basquez | |