## **Board Report 23-27**

Date: August 29, 2023

To: Board of Deferred Compensation Administration

From: Staff

Subject: Election of Officer(s) - Board Third Provisional Chair

Vacancy

Board of Deferred Compensation Administration
Thomas Moutes Chair
Neil Guglielmo Vice-Chair
Robert Schoonover First Provisional Chair
<b>Jeremy Wolfson</b> Second Provisional Chair
Matthew Benham
Dana H. Brown
Linda P. Le
Carl Lurvey
Joseph Salazar

## **Recommendation:**

That the Board conduct an election for the position of Third Provisional Chair, and any other vacant officer positions, as needed.

## **Discussion:**

Due to the ending of Mr. Joshua Geller's term on June 30, 2023, the third provisional chair is now vacant. The Board's Governance Policies/Bylaws, Section 3.1 indicates, "The Board shall elect a Chair, Vice-Chair, and First, Second, and Third Provisional Chairs at its first meeting following the first day in January of every even numbered year; or in the event one of the individuals holding one of these titles separates from the Board, at the earliest possible meeting following that individual's separation." The current list of officers, including the Provisional Chairs, is as follows:

Position	Board Member Name
Chair	Thomas Moutes
Vice-Chair	Neil Guglielmo
First Provisional Chair	Robert Schoonover
Second Provisional Chair	Jeremy Wolfson
Third Provisional Chair	Vacant

In accordance with the Bylaws, staff recommends that the Board conduct an election for the position of Third Provisional Chair, and any additional chairs, as needed. The Board member elected to the position will serve in the role through the end of this calendar year 2023; the next election of officers takes place in January 2024.

Submitted by:	2 RIC Jan
•	Eric Lan, Benefits Analyst
Reviewed by:	
	Esther Chang, Defined Contribution Plan Manager